



Mugaga Farmers Cooperative Society is in Gacuka sublocation, Konyu Division, Mathira East District, of Nyeri County. The co-op was registered in the 1980s and has five wet mills, namely Kagumo-ini, Kiamabara, Muthigiini, Gathugu, and Gatina. It is located approximately 140 kilometres northeast of Nairobi City on the slopes of Mt. Kenya. Geographically, the society is in Upper Medium (UM 2) zone. Red volcanic soils favor coffee farming as the major cash crop.

The co-op is managed by a committee of nine elected members supported by 43 permanent staff. Of these, seven work at Kagumoini wet mill, assisted by over 50 casual employees during peak harvest. A supervisory committee of three members checks the activities of the management committee.

Processing:

Timely and selective hand-picking is carried out at Kieni wet mill. Cherry is delivered to the mill the same day it is picked. Cherry sorting is carried out at the wet mill prior to the depulping. Red ripe cherry are separated from underripes, overripes, and foreign matter. Processing utilizes clean river water (wet processing). Sun-drying is done after fermentation and washing before delivery of the coffee to

ID# 7950

Origin Kenya

Region Mathira East District,

Nyeri County

Farm Mugaga Farmers

Coop Society

Variety SL-28, SL-34, Ruiru 11

Altitude 1600 masl Proc. Method Fully Washed



the dry mill for secondary processing.

Average Rainfall:

The rains are in two seasons, short and long rains, totalling about 1600 mm per year.

Main crop depends on long rains that come between April and May. Light crop receives adequate rain between October and November.

Temperature Range:18-25° Celcius

Number of producers at Mugage Farmers Co-op Society: 1,200

Milled by: Central Kenya Coffee Millers

Location Map



Gallery AA Kieni (GrainPro)









